Lenythegreat’s Weblog


Pop! Art
June 1, 2008, 11:34 am
Filed under: 2D works | Tags: , , , , , , ,

I love pop art! It’s cool and very fun to look at. After being so inspired by Pop Art, and especially by the works of Andy Warhol, I decided to do some works of POP! art too:

Coca Cola Classic

Coca Cola Classic

 Out of the three POP! art works here, I love this the MOST! It really looks like an advertisement for Coca cola. I did away with all the gassy bubbles forming at the sides of the glass (in the original picture) and simplified all forms as much as possible to create this effect. 

donald ducks in a row
donald ducks in a row

This work looks super funny, haha! I played with only 3 colours (red, yellow-orange, blue) plus black and white, mix-and-matched here and there to get 3 POP! art looking donald duck stuffed toy. There is minimal or almost no modelling at all, but I included the shadows to make it look slighly more ‘realistic’. I could have improved on my messy brushwork though, which I think will make my painting much flatter and POP! art-ish.

Old dutch cleanser poster
Old dutch cleanser poster

I feel so sad whenever I look at this collage. That’s because the top and bottom of this work is cut off accidentedly by I-dunno-who. That makes my work look quite unbalanced and tilted D: Anyway, I enjoyed creating textures with acrylic paint and cutting them up to fit the together. The hardest part was to carefully cut out the shapes without creating any big obvious gaps and destroying the overall outline of the subject matter.

POP! art rocks!
6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

HI… I LOVE THE YOUR POP ART… I GOT THE COCA COLA FOR MY WALLPAPER… EXCUSE MY POOR ENGLISH… IM FROM BOGOTA COLOMBIA… THATS IN SOUTH AMERICA… IM HAPPY TO FIND YOU LIKE POP ART… THE IS AN EXPO IN MY CITY… ORIGINAL ANDY WARHOL ART IN A GALLERY FOR FREE IN MY COUNTRY… COOL… THE EXPO IS FROM JUNE TO SEPTEMBER… ANDY WARHOL FOR FREE IN COLOMBIA…

Comment by JUAN CAMILO

Thank You so much for appreciating my art pieces! Wow the Andy Warhol event in your city sounds cool! Haha! Too bad I won’t be able to attend it ):

Comment by lenythegreat

Your Coke pop art is incredible! Keep up the great work.

Comment by Alyssa

Hello.

I’m a publisher from a South African educational publishing house, Via Afrika Publishers. Please let me know how I can contact you regarding permission to use your Coke pop-art drawing in one of our textbooks.

Kind regards,
Marius du Plessis
marius.duplessis@viaafrika.com

Comment by shanothaine

Hi! I love your Coke art! I thought it was Warhol’s work. :) anyway, I would like to use it as my inspiration for my work. I’ll let you see after it’s done. :)

Comment by Lis

I’d be delighted to!

Comment by lenythegreat




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

